Available Soon: Request your printed copies of the Idaho Freedom Index mailed to you!
Request Your Copies

Four formal write-in candidates for the May primary

Four formal write-in candidates for the May primary

Idaho Freedom Foundation staff
April 28, 2010
Idaho Freedom Foundation staff
Author Image
April 28, 2010

Four Idahoans met the new earlier deadline to file as write-in candidates for the May 25 statewide primary.  Three of the write-in candidates are in races for the Idaho House of Representatives where they face formal no primary challenge.  None of the new candidates' names will appear on primary ballots.  If any of the write-in candidates win next month, they would show up on the November general election ballot if they pay a $30 filing fee with the Idaho secretary of state.

The four candidates are spread across the state and split evenly between the two major parties.  Democrat David Larsen of Coeur d’Alene is running against Rep. Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene, the chair of the House Education Committee.  Sheri Burke of Caldwell is a write-in candidate in the Democratic primary for the seat currently held by Rep. Carlos Bilbao, R-Emmett.  Republican David Bowen is throwing his name into the ring in the race for the House seat held by Rep. Elaine Smith, D-Pocatello.   Fred Nichols of Nampa is joining a crowded Republican primary for governor that features incumbent Gov. Butch Otter, Ada County Commissioner Sharon Ullman, retired elk rancher Rex Rammell, Tamara Wells of Post Falls, and Pete Peterson of Boise.

Larsen wrote on the Kootenai County Democrats' website that he thinks elected officials like Nonini should face opponents in elections.  "I feel strongly that citizens have not only the right and responsibility to elect their representatives, but they should have choices as well," he wrote.  "Unopposed candidates actually have no accountability to the citizens unless they are challenged. My opponent clearly needs to be challenged!"

State lawmakers approved changing election law earlier this year to require write-in candidates to formally file paperwork 28 days before an election, which is two weeks earlier than the old 14-day requirement.  The secretary of state’s office supported the earlier deadline on behalf of county clerks, who administer primary and general elections.

The four formal write-in names isn’t an aberration from past years.  In 2008, there were six write-in candidates, including current Idaho Parks and Recreation Director Nancy Merrill, who challenged House Majority Leader Mike Moyle, R-Star. There were three write-in candidates in the 2004 and 2006 primary elections, according to the secretary of state’s office.

Idaho Freedom Foundation
802 W. Bannock Street, Suite 405, Boise, Idaho 83702
p 208.258.2280 | e [email protected]
COPYRIGHT © 2022 Idaho freedom Foundation
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram