The Idaho Department of Labor has posted a news release regarding legislation it will be proposing on Thursday to fine employers for not reporting new hires in a timely manner. The department cites a 1997 law that requires employers to report new hires to the department within 20 days.
Should the employers fail to report within the 20 days, the proposed law would impose a fine of $25 for every new hire who wasn't reported. The new law would also allow an employer to be fined up to a total of $5,000 per quarter for failing to report new hires.
In an attempt to educate employers on the current law, the department launched a new website. The department says that since the 1997 law was passed, only about 30 percent of the employers in Idaho have complied.