

The Idaho Spending Index, launched in 2019, is a first of-its-kind legislative scorecard that reveals how state lawmakers vote on spending bills. Those with the higher percentage scores consistently voted in a fiscally conservative manner; those with lower scores did not.

RK.	NAME	PARTY	SCORE	RK.	NAME	PARTY	SCORE
T1	Rep. Heather Scott	R	100%	T28	Rep. Greg Chaney	R	42 %
T1	Rep. Priscilla Giddings	R	100%	T28	Rep. Julianne Young	R	42 %
3	Rep. John Green	R	98%	30	Sen. Regina Bayer	R	39 %
T4	Rep. Vito Barbieri	R	97%	T31	Sen. Lori Den Hartog	R	38%
T4	Rep. Chad Christensen	R	97%	T31	Rep. John Vander Woude	R	38%
T4	Rep. Christy Zito	R	97%	33	Sen. Don Cheatham	R	32%
T7	Rep. Dorothy Moon	R	94 %	34	Rep. Thomas Dayley	R	28%
T7	Rep. Tammy Nichols	R	94 %	T35	Sen. Jim Guthrie	R	25 %
T 7	Rep. Tony Wisniewski	R	94%	T35	Sen. Mark Harris	R	25%
10	Rep. Bryan Zollinger	R	73%	T35	Rep. Rod Furniss	R	25%
11	Rep. Barbara Ehardt	R	72%	T38	Sen. Michelle Stennett	D	23%
T12	Rep. Randy Armstrong	R	69%	T38	Rep. Sue Chew	D	23%
T12	Rep. Ron Mendive	R	69 %	T38	Rep. Mat Erpelding	D	23%
T14	Rep. Judy Boyle	R	67%	T38	Rep. Brooke Green	D	23%
T14	Rep. Steven Harris	R	67%	T38	Rep. James Holtzclaw	R	23%
16	Rep. Kevin Andrus	R	63%	T38	Rep. Doug Ricks	R	23%
17	Rep. Mike Kingsley	R	59 %	44	Rep. Wendy Horman	R	22%
T18	Rep. Terry Gestrin	R	56%	T45	Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb	D	21%
T18	Rep. Joe Palmer	R	56%	T45	Sen. Grant Burgoyne	D	21%
20	Rep. Paul Shepherd	R	55%	T45	Sen. Carl Crabtree	R	21%
T21	Rep. Brent Crane	R	52 %	T45	Sen. Dan Johnson	R	21%
T21	Rep. Thyra Stevenson	R	52%	T45	Sen. Maryanne Jordan	D	21%
23	Rep. Mike Moyle	R	50 %	T45	Sen. Fred Martin	R	21%
24	Rep. Sage Dixon	R	47%	T45	Sen. Van Burtenshaw	R	21%
T25	Sen. Steve Vick	R	45%	T52	Rep. Chris Abernathy	D	20%
T25	Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt	R	45%	T52	Rep. Elaine Smith	D	20%
T25	Rep. Jason Monks	R	45%	54	Rep. Muffy Davis	D	19%

The Idaho Spending Index examines appropriation bills on several fronts to add important context to lawmakers' discussions as the bills are considered on the floors of the House and Senate. Among the issues we look at in drawing a conclusion about a budget:

Does the agency requesting these funds serve a proper role of government? Has wasteful or duplicative spending been identified within the agency, and if so, has that spending been eliminated or corrected? Does the budget examine existing spending to look for opportunities to contain spending, e.g., through a base reduction? If there is a maintenance budget, is that maintenance budget appropriate? Are the line items appropriate in type and size, and are they absolutely necessary for serving the public? Does the budget contemplate the addition of new employees or programs? Does the appropriation increase dependency on the federal government?

Our analysis is intended to provide lawmakers and their constituents with a frame of reference for conservative budgeting, by summarizing whether appropriation measures contain items that are sincerely objectionable or sincerely supportable.

RK.	NAME	PARTY	SCORE	RK.	NAME	PARTY	SCORE
T55	Sen. David Nelson	D	18%	T80	Rep. Gary Collins	R	11%
T55	Sen. Steven Thayn	R	18%	Т80	Rep. Bill Goesling	R	11%
57	Rep. Rob Mason	D	17%	T80	Rep. Jarom Wagoner	R	11%
T58	Sen. Lee Heider	R	16 %	T85	Rep. Steve Berch	D	9%
T58	Sen. Dave Lent	R	16 %	T85	Rep. Marc Gibbs	R	9%
T58	Sen. Jim Rice	R	16 %	T85	Rep. Linda Hartgen	R	9%
T58	Rep. Jim Addis	R	16%	T85	Rep. Ryan Kerby	R	9%
T58	Rep. Ilana Rubel	D	16%	T85	Rep. Jerald Raymond	R	9%
T63	Sen. Bert Brackett	R	14%	T85	Rep. Fred Wood	R	9%
T63	Sen. Brent Hill	R	14%	T85	Sen. Kelly Anthon	R	9%
T63	Sen. Patti Anne Lodge	R	14%	T85	Sen. Abby Lee	R	9 %
T63	Sen. Mark Nye	D	14%	Т93	Rep. Neil Anderson	R	8%
T63	Sen. Jim Patrick	R	14%	Т93	Rep. Britt Raybould	R	8%
T63	Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking	D	14%	Т93	Rep. Scott Syme	R	8%
T63	Sen. Chuck Winder	R	14%	Т96	Sen. Jeff Agenbroad	R	7%
T63	Rep. Scott Bedke	R	14%	Т96	Sen. Steve Bair	R	7%
T63	Rep. Lance Clow	R	14%	Т96	Sen. C. Scott Grow	R	7%
T63	Rep. Jake Ellis	D	14%	Т96	Sen. Todd Lakey	R	7%
T63	Rep. Melissa Wintrow	D	14%	T100	Rep. Megan Blanksma	R	6 %
T74	Sen. Dean Mortimer	R	13%	T100	Rep. Clark Kauffman	R	6 %
T74	Sen. Jim Woodward	R	13%	T100	Rep. Laurie Lickley	R	6 %
T74	Rep. Robert Anderst	R	13%	T100	Rep. Gary Marshall	R	6 %
T74	Rep. John Gannon	D	13%	T100	Rep. Sally Toone	D	6 %
T 74	Rep. John McCrostie	D	13%	T100	Rep. Rick Youngblood	R	6 %
T74	Rep. Caroline Troy	R	13%				1
T80	Sen. Mary Souza	R	11%		Note: "T" indicates a tie bet	ween lawmo	akers.
T80	Rep. Paul Amador	R	11%		Decid the detailed area		

Read the detailed analyses and vote totals at IdahoSpendingIndex.com